EAC-AfDB Group to Deepen Collaboration

(EAC) The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Dr. Richard Sezibera today held talks with officials from the African Development Bank led by the Bank’s Regional Director for East Africa, Mr. Gabriel Negatu.

The Secretary General and his guests discussed several issues pertaining to deepening collaboration between EAC and the African Development Bank Group.  The AfDB officials briefed the Secretary General about the 2012 Annual General meeting of the Group that will be held within the East African Community and the need for EAC to use the occasion to promote the private sector and showcase some of its critical infrastructure projects in roads, railways and energy. At the same occasion, the EAC would take the opportunity upscale its visibility among the participants expected to be in the range of 2,000 to 3,000 people.

The two sides also discussed the need to update and enrich the existing cooperation agreement between the Secretariat and the AfDB Group that was signed on 23rd July 1998. In this regard, an EAC-ADB technical mission will be convened in mid October to concretize all areas of collaboration with a view to come up with a robust cooperation agreement.

Amb. Richard Sezibera was accompanied by his Deputy Secretary General in charge of Planning and Infrastructure, Dr. Enos Bukuku; the Director for Productive Sectors, Dr. Caleb Nyamajeje Weggoro; Director for Infrastructure, Mr. Philip Wambugu; and other senior officials. Accompanying the Regional Director for East Africa at the talks were the Bank’s Secretary General, Ms. Cecilia Akintomide and the Resident Representative to the Tanzania Country Office, Ms. Tonia Kandiero.

Additional Notes to Editors

The African Development Bank Group was founded in 1964. It has three Constituent Institutions namely: The African Development Bank (ADB), The African Development Fund (ADF) and The Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF). It has its Headquarters in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire with temporary relocation in Tunis, Tunisia. Its Shareholders consist of 53 African countries (regional member countries) and 24 non-African countries (non-regional member countries)
The African Development Bank (AfDB) Group’s mission is to help reduce poverty, improve living conditions for Africans and mobilize resources for the continent’s economic and social development. With this objective in mind, the institution aims at assisting African countries – individually and collectively – in their efforts to achieve sustainable economic development and social progress. Combating poverty is at the heart of the continent’s efforts to attain sustainable economic growth. To this end, the Bank seeks to stimulate and mobilize internal and external resources to promote investments as well as provide its regional member countries with technical and financial assistance.

The institution’s greatest assets are its human resources which come from a wide geographic area. The Bank is an equal opportunity employer and firmly believes that recruitment from a wide geographical and cultural spectrum enriches the institution with varied talents, experiences and skills that will enhance the quality of human resources management and ultimately the realization of the Bank’s mission of reducing poverty across the continent.

In accordance with its policy of decentralization aimed at taking its operations closer to its beneficiaries, the Bank has, over the past few years, established about 23 field and country offices across the continent.

Source: www.afdb.org


Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:

Logo WordPress.com

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte WordPress.com. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )


Connexion à %s