Mo Ibrahim prize for African leadership goes to Nobody

The Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, was not awarded for a third time in four years as no suitable candidates were found.

The $5 million award is meant to be given out annually to a democratically elected African leader who showed exceptional leadership, served only for a constitutionally-mandated term and left office during the last three years, according to the Mo Ibrahim Foundation.

There was also no winner in 2009 and 2010 because the panel said there had been no suitable candidate.

Last year, Cape Verde President Pedro Verona Pires was named, while Joaquim Chissano, former president of Mozambique, and Festus Mogae, former president of Botswana won in 2005 and 2008, respectively.

Sudan-born telecoms entrepreneur Mo Ibrahim said the panel would make no compromises and would only award the prize to a worthy, exceptional leader.

“You make your bed, you have to lie on it. If we said we’re going to have a prize for exceptional leadership, we have to stick to that. We are not going to compromise,” Ibrahim said.


Al Shahid Network News


Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:


Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )


Connexion à %s